top of page

Committee Chair:                  

  • Dr. Caroll Visintainer, Caroline County

Scholarship Committee

Committee Charge:      

  • To raise funds for the MRSPA Endowment Fund

  • To plan for the distribution of the allotted portion of the annual
    investment return for purposes approved by 
    the Board of Directors

Caroll Visintainer - Scholarship Committee Chair.jpeg

Committee Responsibilities:     

  • To plan and execute a fund raising program

  • To review and revise the Scholarship Application form

  • To establish timelines for the application, evaluation and notification process

  • To  notify Maryland Boards of Education of the scholarship, application process and timelines

  • To select awardees

  • To notify awardees by phone and letters

  • To update the Scholarship Newsletter




The Maryland Retired School Personnel Association Foundation provides scholarship monies for currently employed educational personnel in the public schools of Maryland to become fully certified and qualified teachers.  The MRSPA Foundation was established in 1999 with a generous donation to the Association by the late Irl and Ella Beall, longtime MRSPA members.  In the past years, contributions from MRSPA members and friends of the Association have helped this fund grow.

The Association is committed to use only interest and dividends from the Foundation and proceeds from our annual raffle to award annual scholarships.  Selection of the scholarship recipients is accomplished by the MRSPA Scholarship Committee.

Fifty-nine (59) scholarships have been awarded as of May 2022.  Each year, the MRSPA Scholarship Committee strives to increase the number of scholarships awarded, as well as, increasing the amount given.

MRSPA members and friends of the Association are urged and encouraged to make yearly contributions to this fund.  Donations are accepted at any time from anyone.  They may be made to honor someone on special occasions, or in memory of a colleague or friend who has passed away.  Donations are fully tax-deductible.  

Click to view the 2023 MRSPA Scholarship Newsletter

Click here to donate to the MRSPA Foundation!

Maryland Retired School Personnel Association Scholarship Winners

The MRSPA Scholarship Committee is proud to announce the winners of MRSPA's annual Scholarship Award!

Congratulations to the 2023 winners:

Zachary Dodson of Harford County

Harper Gambill of Baltimore City

Amanda Glenn MacKenzie of St. Mary's County

Shaniqua Thompson of Frederick County

MRSPA wishes the best on all the winners in their future educational endeavors.


The Scholarship Committee would like to thank all those who submitted applications and encourages those who were not selected to re-apply for the 2024 application period. We look forward to seeing the next round of scholarship applications in 2024!

2022-2023 Scholarship Winners

Thank-You Video

Harper Gambill, Baltimore City

bottom of page